WWE Day 1 2021: Start times, full card, how to watch and Peacock

0
11

WWE

WWE is doing something different to kick off the new year. WWE Day 1 is a new pay-per-view that, as its name suggests, takes place on the first day of the year. Unusually for WWE, that means it’s a big show on a Saturday instead of the traditional Sunday. And what a show it could be: it’s being headlined by Roman Reigns defending his Universal Championship against Brock Lesnar.

Is this the culmination of their feud, or will it be a progression to a match on a bigger stage?

On the Raw side, Big E will defend his WWE Championship against Kevin Owens, Seth Rollins and Bobby Lashley in a Fatal Fourway. Edge is also wrestling, as The Rated R Superstar will grapple with The Miz on Day 1. Becky Lynch’s Raw Women’s Championship will be on the line too, with Liv Morgan gunning for the title. 

Start times 

Day 1 takes place at Atlanta’s State Farm Arena on Jan. 1. For those without a live ticket, it starts at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m ET. Grappling fans across the pond will have to stay up late, as the show starts at 1 a.m. UK time. In Australia, Day 1 begins at midday AEDT on Sunday.

How to watch: Peacock, WWE Network

As you probably know by now, Peacock is the new home of WWE’s pay-per-views. The WWE Network has in essence migrated to NBC’s Peacock streaming service, and that’s where you’ll go to watch WWE Day 1 2021. Peacock has three tiers: Free, Premium and Premium Plus. To watch WWE content, you’ll need a Premium subscription. The good news is that’ll set you back $5 a month, less than the $10 for WWE Network. 

If you’re outside of the US, you’ll watch Day 1 2021 on the WWE Network as usual. 

Full Card

  • Universal Championship: Roman Reigns (c) vs. Brock Lesnar.
  • WWE Championship: Big E vs. Kevin Owens vs. Seth Rollins vs. Bobby Lashley. 
  • Edge vs. The Miz.
  • Raw Women’s Championship: Becky Lynch (c) Liv Morgan.
  • Raw Tag Team Championships: RK-Bro (c) vs. The Street Profits. 
  • SmackDown Tag Team Championships: The Usos (c) vs. The New Day.
  • Drew McIntyre vs. Madcap Moss.
  • Kickoff Show match: Cesaro and Ricochet vs. Ridge Holland and Sheamus. 

Go to Publisher: CNET News
Author: Daniel Van Boom